My Golden Girls

My mom and I watched a couple sitcoms religiously when I was a kid.  One of those was Golden Girls, I must admit here that I still sit and watch reruns, even though I have seen virtually every one of them.  I love the quick wit and sarcastic conversation.  I have discovered the same comraderie in my local drug store.

The women at the store are an unending source of laughter and smiles.  The last time I was in there the gaggle of gals were discussing their hunger pangs…I smiled as I listened to comparisons of soup and preferences ensued.  I was running in on my lunchbreak and this was a bright spot in my extremely busy day.  The manager commented on how she could not eat canned soup, even to this day.  I thought about that and remarked that I cannot eat spaghettios….they taste like the metal of the can.  What I anticipated would be a solitary foray into the drug store ended in laughter and the warmth of women who make people feel good about themselves.

This is not the first time I have left smiling.  I know all the women by name, and the lead pharmicist always comes around the counter to give me a hug and ask how I am doing.  They generally care and are interested in the people who walk through the door.  I told them one day that they are a blessing to me and to others.  I think this is one of the hallmarks of a smaller town.  The women here journey through and with people.  For me personally they are hugs and support and laughter

Today I went in because I needed to pick up the order I placed last week,  There is a spray analgesic called Blue Emu that seems to help my tight shoulders and neck better than mot things out there.  No amount of massage is cutting the pain and offering relief, so this is the next best option.  When I entered the store the manager was talking about Ewoks from Star Wars. So the comparison between Ewoks and some furry creatures from Star Trek continued.  I laughed aloud and wondered what was happening….they had received these round furry blue and orange animal type things that made some weird vocalization…Sure they were cute, but I am not sure they ranked with Ewoks…the closest thing I could equate would be a Furby and even that is stretching things a bit.  Round colored volleyballs with hands and feet and their eyes…well to say that they looked like they were on drugs in an understatement.  Such dilated pupils..so not right for a drugstore…..  We laughed and then the manager gave me my package and said she had wondered all day why Cindy had placed an order for a Blue Bird… a Blue Emu…Ah, I love these girls. 

There are times when living in a small town drives me nuts.  When I crave the chance for culture and adventure and romance of faraway dreams gives way to a more secure understanding of connection and community.  I am thankful for these women, these Golden Girls….

Shalom,

cahl

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annmarie
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 17:53:42

    Where do you live? I thought you were in Sioux Falls? Which is NOT a small town even by my suburbia east coast Jersey husband.

    Reply

    • cindythea
      Jan 24, 2012 @ 22:34:23

      Ann Marie,
      I live in Lennox about 25 miles south of Sioux Falls. I would consider SFalls NOT small town in terms of size, but in terms of mentality. There is more agrarian understanding in Sfalls….

      Reply

  2. Michael Larson
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 20:31:23

    I think you should get some Ewoks to walk on your back to help with the sore back.

    Reply

Tell Me What you THINK!

